My New Project

Wanna chat about something that *gasp* isn't in one of the all-encompassing categories? Come on in!

My New Project

Postby Oseirus on Sat May 26, 2012 2:45 am

So, broke down and bought myself a motorcycle. A 2003 Honda CBR 600F4i, $3000, 9700 miles. Not a bad deal.

Only problem? It's a little worse for the wear right now. The body's been torn to hell after the previous owner decided to high-side the thing across 30 feet of gravel. Thankfully, the frame is unscathed, but the left side fairings and (to a much lesser extent) the headlight fairing are pretty much destroyed.

BUT! This gives me a REALLY good excuse to give it some lovin'. In addition to replacing the damaged fairings and other miscellaneous parts, I'm going to give the whole thing a new makeover inspired by my current career field.

Simply, I'm going to theme it after this thing:

For those that don't know, I'm a mechanic (Crew Chief) on the above KC-10 Extender for the US Air Force. Not the most glorious job, but I love what I do. Even if everyone I work with is cynical enough to make an emo kid look chipper.

Gonna take a little time and money, but the end result should look pretty sweet. I'll post up progress pictures here so you can follow along at home.

The Big To-Do (TM) List:
  • Replace Damaged Fairings (ON ORDER)
  • Install New Painted Fairings
  • Paint Gas Tank
  • Purchase and add decals, other "visual touches" (Arrived, Awaiting New Fairings)
  • Add Tank Protector (Arrived, Awaiting Gas Tank Paint)
  • Add a real license plate bracket (DONE!)
  • Replace Alternator cover (also damaged in the crash)
  • Show off to women at parties

(For you purists, I unfortunately don't have the time or the equipment to paint the new fairings myself, but everything else, from part replacement to decals, I'll be doing myself)